There is a simple explanation for how I came to have my hands on the hairy backside of a pointy-eared stranger wearing furry pants with a tail: love. There’s no other way to explain it. When you’re in a relationship there are times when you have to make sacrifices and last weekend I made the mother of all sacrifices (in my opinion) when I begrudgingly agreed to accompany my boyfriend to MegaCon; literally translated it means, “A world outside your parents’ basement.” I had to assume that every male friend Boyfriend has ever had since first grade just happened to have something better to do that weekend, like take a sewing a class, because this was our text message exchange last Friday:

(You’ll later learn why Boyfriend came to seriously regret this invitation)

It was one of those inevitable turning points in a relationship, like the first time your significant other farts in front of you, when you realize that even though they are the glowing epitome of perfection sent down from Heaven for the purpose of becoming your soul mate, they are also human. The signs have been there all along (like all those times he started a conversation with, “I was reading an article in Galaxy Weekly and…”) but MegaCon really drove home the point that the handsome, energetic, charming and witty man I met almost two years ago is also an undercover geek. My mom points out that that’s what makes us two peas in a pod (I hide my geekiness behind contact lenses, eyelash extensions and rap music).

So Sunday afternoon found Boyfriend and I strolling into the Orange County Convention Center alongside people in various of forms of their favorite comic book, sci-fi or anime characters. These were actual adults; grown men and women who function unassumingly in the real world as regular human beings! And for a few days this weekend the line between reality and fantasy wasn’t just blurred for them it was erased all together. Before we even got inside we saw this:
Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

This was the actual conversation I had with one of them (yes, verbatim):

Me: So what’s going on here?
Boxtopian: This is Boxtopia.
Me: Uh… cool. What’s that mean?
Boxtopian: Well, they were throwing out these boxes so one person got a box and sat in it. So others got boxes, too. And now we’re all sitting in boxes.
Me: Uh… cool.

I mean, where do you go from there? I’m sure there are many complexities that go into forming a Boxtopian society but the convention was closing in a few hours and Boyfriend was eager to (long sigh) chase down one of the many life-sized remote-controlled R2D2s that roamed the floor.

Click for more photos from MegaCon

I’m guessing this would be the resulting love-child if R2D2 mated with a Wuzzle

I must say MegaCon turned out to be an entertaining and eye-opening look at the world of comics, sci-fi and such. The artistry was as impressive as the marketing (“Those are ACTION FIGURES not DOLLS!”). By the end even I was eager to buy something to commemorate the popping of my MegaCon cherry until I realized there were very few places where I could appropriately wear a furry beanie with ear flaps and wolf ears.

I learned a lot, too. Did you know that Wonder Woman’s powers include super-human strength, super speed, flight and empathy? Yes, empathy. Look it up on Wikipedia. What a sad, sad world we live in when EMPATHY is considered a super power.

I think the whole experience would’ve been a rather positive one for Boyfriend as well if it hadn’t been for a minor blunder on my part. In my excitement to find out when Tia Carrere would be making an appearance (I’ve idolized her ever since Wayne’s World!!) I asked an official-looking man in a black shirt if 1) he worked at the convention, and 2) he knew when Tia Carrere would be coming out. The man was friendly and gracious and as he walked away Boyfriend turned to me with a look of chagrin:

Boyfriend: That was Brent Spiner.
Me: Who?
Boyfriend (his disappointment growing): He played Data on Star Trek.
Me: He played who in what?
Boyfriend (his head drooping with embarrassment): Let’s go.

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Brent Spiner signing autographs

Tia Carrere, by the way, was just as hot in person.

Click for more photos from MegaCon

You could take pictures OF Tia Carrere but you couldn't take pictures WITH her :(.

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Click for more photos from MegaCon

Notice the 5th one down says Womanology? Haha!

