I get lots of emails every day. I mean TONS. If emails were dollar bills I could quit my job and live comfortably. But then again, if I quit I wouldn’t be getting so many emails and I’d have to go back to work. So I guess that was a pointless comparison.

Anyway, I get TONS of emails. I’m on the email blast of just about every law enforcement division in Central Florida. I’m also somehow on the list of numerous PR companies pitching stories such as random authors releasing books in New York. Even the Mitt Romney campaign has been finding it necessary lately to send up to 10 (I’m not exaggerating here) emails a day blasting President Obama on everything from healthcare to his choice of cereal. I’m guessing that’s what the emails say. I don’t actually read them. I don’t care if you’re Republican, Democrat or Bradley Cooper, 10 emails a day is just plain annoying.

So I’d say I spend a good 30 minutes every day just scanning and deleting what the spam filter did not catch. But I always take the time to read the emails sent to me by the local animal shelters even though it always breaks my heart to see the sad eyes of the latest four-legged friend that is in need of a new home. But today I got a really heart-breaking email blast from Judy Sarullo with Pet Rescue By Judy. This is what it said:

“Dear friend, a family walked into the rescue the other day. The mom and children were crying. The father proceeded to tell me that they had come hoping that we could take in their dog that they had loved for the last six years. The man told me they had lost their home and were moving in with relatives. “There is no place for Rodney. If I take him to the county, they will put him down. I’m begging you! Please help me.” This is my reality. Countless animals are being surrendered or abandoned. I never dreamed the economy would stay this bad for so long. We do everything we can, but there are so many and it’s so expensive. Our vet bills are staggering ($120,000 last year). Rent is $5000 a month. We don’t have corporate sponsorship, nor do we receive any tax dollars. We depend on people like you to open your hearts, and give what you can to save these animals. Thus, as the holidays approach and you start to think about helping those in need, I am asking you to help us, your local “NO KILL” animal shelter. Any donation you give goes directly to the animals (I don’t take a salary).” – Judy Sarullo, Executive Director, Pet Rescue by Judy.

That story is one of hundreds around Central Florida as more and more shelters find their kennels at capacity. If you’d like to help Judy you can visit www.PetRescueByJudy.com.

Tubbs, the bulldog/lab puppy

Tubbs, the bulldog/lab puppy

Rango the kitten

Rango the kitten

Claudia, the Curr/hound pup

Claudia, the Curr/hound pup

 
