I admit, I am a horribly compulsive buyer. I am the type of customer that keeps stores like Walmart in business. I’ll go in to buy bread and milk and walk out with an ironing board and a spice rack that spins (because my spices just sit in the cupboard, motionless). So when my boyfriend said he wanted to make a “pit stop” at Best Buy this past weekend to pick up a $20 controller for the Wii I contemplated just waiting in the car. Those kind of stores are particularly dangerous because they sell gadgets I didn’t even know exsisted but wonder how I ever lived without. Wireless adapters, external hard drives, laptop covers, a Jurassic 5 CD (a CD? Really?). All of this stuff I was able to talk myself out of buying. I was proud.

Then we walked by the TV section.

It was like the bright lights of Heaven reached out and hugged me in a cozy embrace of HD colors and digital clarity. The TV I have at home is about eight years old and was given to me two years ago by a co-worker who was going to throw it out. It’s one of those TVs where you have to be sitting directly in the middle at the correct eye level to actually see anything on the screen. But not these ones. These TVs you could see from Mars! I’ve never been all that electronic-savvy but at that moment I vowed to never again argue with my boyfriend about the difference between 55 inches and 65 inches. I mean, ten inches is quite a difference (and not just a $2,500 difference)!

Since then I’ve spent my days scanning the internet and fantasizing about big screen TVs, reading all about important TV stuff like 1080p, Linksticks, input-whats-its, and ultra contrast plus mega enhancing diagonally dynamic design displays that come with HZ-HDMI-802.44a/b/k/n connections.

“But you don’t NEED a big TV,” says producer Michelle making an irritatingly rational point, adding that it goes against my goal of being more fiscally responsible this year (technically, I already failed that goal in South Beach). But her levelheaded advice was drowned out by the guys from the production department. Men have an uncanny sixth sense for electronic talk. All you have to do is think about a gadget with a plug and they come running with a memorized list of pros, cons and options, using their own experience in purchasing electronics as their expertise.

By the time they were done showing me, in arm length, the difference between 55 inches and 65 inches then dividing that by the distance between my couch and said TV, minus the space in between the coffee table and the cat bed, not to mention the clear motion rate is 120Hz… well, I’d be a fool NOT to spend thousands of dollars on a big-screen TV!! Especially since it’s going on a credit card that I plan to pay off with my social security checks. To men this makes perfect sense.

Right now the TV is sitting in my electronic shopping cart waiting to be checked out. It may end up just sitting there because during my more lucid moments I remind myself that I don’t really watch TV. But then again, I did just get a Wii. And how am I supposed to enjoy the artistic integrity of Resident Evil 4 on an old 42 incher?

